Appointment of Honorary Alderman



Report to: Full Council

Date: 17 July 2024

Report Author: Councillor Dan Swords, Leader of the Council

Executive Summary

A This report asks Full Council to approve the appointment of three former councillors as Honorary Alderman.

Recommended that:

A In recognition of their significant contribution to the Council and the District of Harlow in particular and public service in general, Council confers the title of Honorary Alderman to Mr Simon Carter, Mr Eddie Johnson and Mr Mark Wilkinson

Reason for decision

- A Under the Local Government Act 1972, Full Council must approve the appointment of Honorary Alderman.
- **B** Conferring the title of Honorary Aldermen / Honorary Alderwomen is an established way of recognising past Members who have rendered eminent services to the Council
- C To recognise the contributions made by Simon Carter, Eddie Johnson and Mark Wilkinson to Harlow.

Other Options

A Do nothing. Full Council is not obliged or required to appoint Honorary Aldermen/Honorary Alderwomen.

Background

- The appointment of Honorary Alderman is to confer recognition on Members who, over a period of time, made a significant contribution to the Council in particular and public service in general. This is a lifetime award
- 2. The creation of Honorary Alderman is covered within the Local Government Act 1972. Its aim is to recognise the incredible impacts that are made by some councillors to the places they live and represent. The office of Alderman should be reserved to those who make the most extraordinary contributions to public life over a long period of time. It is a non-partisan recognition of the sacrifice made to improve the area the Alderman have represented.
- 3. The office of Honorary Alderman can be awarded to any ex-member of Harlow Council who:
 - a) Served any continuous period of ten years in office;
 - b) Continues to fulfil all the requirements for election to the office of Councillor; and
 - c) Is considered by Full Council to have made an outstanding contribution to the Council during office.
- 4. The officer of Alderman is awarded for life. At least two-thirds of the Councillors present at the meeting must vote for it. Nominations can only be made by the Leader of the Council, or the Leader of the Opposition.
- 5. Aldermen will be entitled to use this salutation in public and private matters and a badge of office will be awarded to each for use on official occasions.

Issues/Proposals

- 6. The Leader has nominated Simon Carter, Eddie Johnson, and Mark Wilkinson. All three have served for over 20 continuous years, being Councillors until May 2024. Their contributions to Harlow are unquestioned and too numerous to list
- 7. It is therefore recommended that Simon Carter, Eddie Johnson and Mark Wilkinson are appointed as the first Honorary Aldermen to Harlow Council.
- 8. The order of precedence for attending civic events will be Chair, Vice Chair, past Chairs (if any still serving as councillors) then Aldermen then Cabinet Member/Local Councillor.

Implications

Equalities and Diversity

None.

Climate Change

None.

Finance

None specific.

Author: Jacqueline Van Mellaerts, Assistant Director - Finance and Deputy Section 151 Officer

Governance

Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 allows a Council to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent service to the Council as past members of that Council.

The office of Alderman shall be awarded for life by the vote of at least two thirds of the Councillors voting at a meeting of Full Council

Author: Julie Galvin, Legal Services Manager and Monitoring Officer

Appendices

Appendix A – Report to Full Council dated 22 September 2011 explaining the appointment criteria and process.

Background Papers

None.

Glossary of terms/abbreviations used

None.